Some Folk like One Kinda Folk

Inside the garden area of One Kinda Folk

On the advice of a friend I took a little mozie on down yesterday afternoon to One Kinda Folk café, which as it transpires turns out to be a right hidden gem, nestled away behind an ivy clad wall on Dartmouth Road in Ranelagh and well worth the visit especially in good weather.

Having parked the car in Mespil Estate I made the short ten minute walk along Dartmouth Road, admiring the real estate and taking in the tranquility of Dartmouth Park as I passed by. At the far end of the road I arrive at the café situated on my right hand side, atmosphere aplenty with a almost a dozen people seated outside along the wall enjoying the coffee, weather and summer vibes.

Collection Area
Order Area
3FE Iced Americano

As I walk through the doorway in the wall I’m greeted with a beautiful and tranquil garden area with the coffee shop located to my left exquisitely set up, a shelved wall adorned with bags of 3FE coffee beans for sale next to the doorway and hatch through which I was greeted by a very friendly member of the team. I ordered an iced Americano with an extra shot and a chocolate twisty for good measure, both of which were served to me through another larger window area on the other side of the coffee hatch. I proceeded to move back onto the street to get myself a seat and table.

There are small tables attached to stool style chairs either side – so each table has two chairs and they cannot be moved. Despite this and even being extremely busy I managed to get a seat. A couple of photos for Instagram later (I mean, if it’s not on Insta did it even happen??) and I bite into the deliciously fresh chocolate twisty. The ratio of pastry to chocolate absolutely spot on and it’s a decent size too; an absolutely perfect treat to go with my iced coffee on this scorcher of a day. Any cold beverage would do me right now, but as I love coffee and need my fix of caffeine this iced brew is made all the better as it is made with 3FE coffee. I take my time drinking it, as I am just soaking in the atmosphere as a queue begins to form along the wall and there are more and more people just hanging around having chats over a coffee.

Despite the limited seating this has got to be one of my new favourite cafés due to the friendly staff, location, atmosphere and quality of the coffee and pastries. Food is served also, so I will be venturing back again for lunch some time soon – watch this space. But in the meantime, I would highly recommend a wander on over to One Kinda Folk to see for yourself.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started